Prince Henri Auditoire 02 BW

Finals and award ceremony of the "Generation €uro Students' Award" secondary school competition


The finals and award ceremony of the Eurosystem’s secondary school competition “Generation €uro Students’ Award” were organised on Thursday 29 April at the BCL via teleconference. They concluded the latest edition, which was launched in November 2020.

23 teams took part in the first round of the competition, which consisted in an online quiz with 30 questions about the Eurosystem and its monetary policy. Of these 23 teams, 17 were selected for the second round, in which they had to make a monetary policy decision and explain in writing the reasoning behind that decision.

The finals brought together the top three teams from the second round, which had to present a new monetary policy decision and answer questions from the BCL jury.

After the teams’ presentations and the jury’s deliberation, Mr. Gaston Reinesch, Governor of the BCL and member of the Governing Council of the ECB, opened the award ceremony.

The list of laureates is as follows:

  • First prize : the Europeace team from the Athénée de Luxembourg, composed of Annabelle Bechtel, Fiona Erpelding, Liz Lanners, Margaux Loux and Alina Sprunck (teacher: Christophe Baustert);
  • Second prize : the Economists’ Views team from the Athénée de Luxembourg, composed of Caroline Castel, Emilie Dittmar, Laetitia Shi and Jiali Wu (teacher: Christophe Baustert);
  • Third prize : the Future ECB Governors team from the St. George’s International School, composed of Andrzej Binkowski, Balthazar Munro, Bruno Cardonnel, Julie Degregori and Yuval Ribon (teacher: Darran Knight).

The winning team, Europeace, will participate in the virtual European award ceremony, together with the winners of the other national Eurosystem competitions, which will take place under the chairmanship of Mrs Christine Lagarde, President of the European Central Bank (ECB), on 18 May 2021.

The "Generation €uro Students' Award" is organized by the BCL in Luxembourg and is aimed at students of 2nd or 12th grade studying economics. Teams of three to five students, supervised by a teacher "coach", participate in the competition. It is open to European and international schools in Luxembourg. Participation is possible in English or French. The competition is organized simultaneously in eleven member countries of the euro zone by the respective national central banks.


Mr Gaston Reinesch, Governor of the BCL, the three finalist teams, as well as a teacher, and the BCL Generation €uro team, during the awards ceremony of the 2020-2021 edition.

More information on the competition is available on the Luxembourg page of the website, as well as on request by email: