Prince Henri Auditoire 02 BW

Finals and award ceremony of the "Generation €uro Students' Award" high school competition


The finals and award ceremony of the Eurosystem high school competition “Generation €uro Students’ Award” were organised on 28 February at the BCL. This event concluded Luxembourg’s 2016-2017 contest.

The “Generation €uro Students’ Award” competition was created in 2011 and has been organised in Luxembourg since 2013. The competition targets secondary school students aged between 16 and 19, particularly those following economics classes. Its aim is to promote a better understanding of the role and functioning of the Eurosystem, an entity composed of the European Central Bank (ECB) and the national central banks of the euro area. The competition is co-organised by the ECB and a dozen national central banks in participating countries, including the BCL in Luxembourg.

In the 2016-2017 contest, 22 teams took part in the first round in November, during which participants had to respond to a 30-question online quiz on the Eurosystem and its monetary policy. Out of these 22 teams, 11 were selected for the second round in January, in which they were asked to take a monetary policy decision and explain their reasoning in writing. The three best teams selected at the end of the second round were invited to take part in the finals on 28 February, during which they had to present a new monetary policy decision before a jury of experts from the BCL and answer questions from the jury.

The following high schools took part in the competition in 2016-2017: Athénée de Luxembourg, Lycée Aline Mayrisch Luxembourg, Atert-Lycée Redange, Lycée Ermesinde, Lycée technique de Lallange, Sportlycée, Lycée Vauban and European school (French section).

The following teams reached the finals:

  • Team “Wolfie” from Athénée de Luxembourg (1st place), composed of Eloïse Dorier, Céline Eischen, Felix Estgen et Michel Hoffmann (teacher: Carlo Klein) ;


  • Team "CASC" from Lycée Aline Mayrisch Luxembourg (2nd place), composed of Allison Berna, Catarina Borges Dos Santos, Clara Gales (absente) and Sandra Ramos (teacher: Patricia Becker) ;


  • Team “EMA” from Athénée de Luxembourg (3rd place), composed of Annemarie Loewen, Maëlle Rerat et Elena Wollner (teacher: Carlo Klein).


After the jury’s deliberation, Mr. Gaston Reinesch, Governor of the BCL and member of the Governing Council of the ECB, opened the award ceremony.

In his address, Mr. Reinesch expressed his satisfaction with the outcome of the competition: “This contest takes place in a particularly complex economic environment, where monetary policy relies to a large extent on “non-conventional” measures. I would like to congratulate all of you for your efforts and thank your teachers for their support throughout the three stages of the competition”.

This year’s winning team “Wolfie” will travel to Frankfurt on 4 and 5 April for the European award event, where each best national team will receive a certificate from the hands of the ECB President Mario Draghi.

More information on the competition is available on the Luxembourg page of the website as well as on request by email:


Photo : Mr. Gaston Reinesch, BCL Governor, surrounded by the finalists and the members of the jury